Eastern Newfoundland Science and Technology Fair


<--- back

The Eastern Newfoundland Science and Technology Fair was held at Bishops College, a city high school. The fair was planned for Friday, March 30th and Saturday, March 31st. On Friday, students attended tours of Memorial University during the morning followed by judging in the afternoon. Just over 200 students from 20 schools on the Avalon Peninsula, both junior and senior high, competed. These schools included Amalgamated Academy, Brother Rice, Bishops College, Booth Memorial High, Gonzaga, Holy Heart, Holy Spirit, Holy Trinity, Lakecrest, MacDonald Drive, Mobile Central, Mount Pearl Intermediate, Mount Pearl Senior, Prince of Wales, St. Bonaventure’s College, St. Kevin’s Junior, St. Michael’s Regional, St. Paul’s, St. Peter’s and Villanova.

Due to a snowstorm on Saturday the public viewing and awards ceremony was rescheduled for Sunday, April 1st. This event was attended by several hundred people and was emceed by Ms. Yvonne Dawe, Chair of the Eastern Newfoundland Science Fairs Council, a group of volunteers that organizes the fair each year. A number of representatives from the major sponsors of the fair also attended and assisted with the presentation of awards. These included Dr. Mark Abrahams, Dean of the Faculty of Science, MUN; Mr. David Brazil, MHA, Conception Bay East-Bell Island; Mr. John Elkins, Eastern School District; Mr. Malcolm MacLean, Husky Energy and Mr. Todd Woodland, Dept of Education.

One of the highlights of the awards ceremony was the selection of the 6 students that represented Eastern Newfoundland at the Canada Wide Science Fair in Charlottetown, PEI in May. They included Hannah Boone, Holy Heart, Michael Fleet, Holy Spirit, Anna O’Grady, Bishops College, Kaitlyn Stockley and Jared Trask, Holy Spirit and Sarah Winsor, Bishops College. Anna O’Grady was also awarded the “Best of Fair”.

Also during the ceremony, 2 of the members of the organizing committee of the Eastern Newfoundland Science Fairs Council were recognized for their many years working with science fairs at both the local and national levels. Jamie Parsons, a teacher at Holy Heart and current chair of the national science fair committee as well as retired teacher Mr. Gary Case were awarded a Distinguished Service Award by Youth Science Canada.

Photo: Dr. Mark Abrahams, Ms. Yvonne Dawe, Hannah Boone, Michael Fleet,
Anna O’Grady, Jared Trask, Kaitlyn Stockley, Sarah Winsor, Mr. Jamie Parsons,
Mr. Gary Case and Mr. John Elkins.


Six student finalists from the Eastern Newfoundland Science and Technology Fair represented the province at the 2012 Canada Wide Science Fair in Charlottetown, PEI. This was the 51st national fair with more than 500 junior and senior high students from all across Canada competing for 1 million dollars in prizes and scholarships. The six students were from the Avalon Peninsula (St. John's, CBS, and Paradise). They included Archita Adluri, Michael Fleet, Anna O'Grady, Kaitlyn Stockley, Jared Trask, and Sarah Winsor. All participants performed very well and represented our province with pride.

Kaitlyn Stockley & Jared Trask, both students from Holy Spirit High as well as Sarah Winsor, a student at Bishops College won bronze medals (+ $300 each). Archita Adluri from Holy Heart and Anna O’Grady from Bishops College each won a silver medal (+ $700). Anna also received the Canadian Association of Physicists Physics Prize valued at $1000. This is the second year in a row that Anna has received this prestigious award.

In addition, the medal winners were offered entrance scholarships to a number of Canadian universities. For silver medal winners this included $2500 from Dalhousie University and $2000 the University of British Columbia. Bronze medal winners are offered entrance scholarships in the amount of $1000 by the Universities of Western Ontario and Ottawa. All entrance scholarships are contingent on the student attending that particular university and are not transferable to any other university.

The national science fair not only involves competition for medals and prizes but also numerous educational and fun-filled activities. The students also met some well-known Canadians including the national leader of the NDP, Mr. Thomas Mulcair, famed astronaut, Marc Garneau and local comedian Rick Mercer.

The students were accompanied by 2 delegates/chaperones, Robert Brake and Noelle Marsh.

Photo: Jared Trask, Archita Adluri, Michael Fleet, Anna O’Grady,
Kaitlyn Stockley, and Sarah Winsor

On behalf of the Eastern Newfoundland Science Fairs Council, and the 6 finalists who attended the 2011 Canada Wide Science Fair, we extend a sincere thank you for the generous support of our major sponsors:

Platinum Sponsor:
Dept of Innovation, Business and Rural Development, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador

Gold Sponsors:
Eastern School District
Faculty of Science, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Marine Institute, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Silver Sponsors:
Dept of Education, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador
Husky Energy

Bronze Sponsor:

Yvonne Dawe, B.Sc., M.Sc., B.Ed.
Chair, ENSFC
Fiona Cuthbert, B.Sc., M.Sc.
Vice-chair, ENSFC

C o n t a c t  Us

Email us here with any questions or comments.