Special thanks to our major sponsors

Husky Energy

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Newfoundland and Labrador English School District

Research and Development Corporation Newfoundland and Labrador

Rotary Club of St. John's Northwest

Dept. of Education, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador

Marine Institute

Department of Fisheries & Aquaculture

Chandler Apparel & Promotional

Belbins Grocery

Eastern Newfoundland Science and Technology Fair



For the third year in a row the Eastern Newfoundland Science and Technology Fair was hosted by Bishops College. Husky Energy is again our title sponsor and has committed to that roll for the next 3 years. The fair was held on Friday, April 11 and Saturday, April 12. On Friday, students attended tours of Memorial University during the morning followed by judging in the afternoon. There were 84 judges, many of whom are professors, instructors and graduate students at MUN. Close to 200 students from 18 schools on the Avalon Peninsula, both junior and senior high, competed. These schools included Amalgamated Academy, Brother Rice, Bishops College, Gonzaga, Holy Heart, Holy Spirit, Lakecrest, Líecole de grands vents, MacDonald Drive, Mobile Central, Mount Pearl Intermediate, Mount Pearl Senior, St. Bonaventureís College, St. Kevinís, St. Michaelís, St. Paulís, St. Peterís and Villa Nova.

On Saturday, the public viewing and awards ceremony was attended by approximately 500 people. The emcees for the ceremony were Ms. Natasha Janes, Co-Chair and Ms. Yvonne Dawe, Past-Chair of the Eastern Newfoundland Science Fairs Council, a group of volunteers that organizes the fair each year. A number of representatives from the major sponsors of the fair also attended and assisted with the presentation of awards. These included Mr. Ken Dyer,  Vice-President Operations, Atlantic Region, Husky Energy; Dr. Cecilia Reynolds, Deputy Provost and Assoc. Vice-President Academic, MUN; Dr. Andy Foster, Assoc. Dean of Science, MUN, Dr Rob Shea, Assoc. Vice President , Marine Institute, MUN; Mr. Chris Flanagan, Director, Marketing and Communications, NL Research & Development Corporation; Ms. Jane Simmons, Rotary Club of St. Johnís Northwest; Mr. Todd Woodland, Science Program Specialist, NL Dept of Education; Mr. Rodney Hodder, Program Specialist, Science and Technology, English School District; and Ms. Bridget Ricketts, Principal, Bishops College.

One of the highlights of the awards ceremony was the awarding of the grand awards which includes the selection of the 6 students that will represent Eastern Newfoundland at the Canada Wide Science Fair in Windsor, Ontario in May. These include Nitish Bhatt, Gonzaga, Ethan Bickford, Holy Heart, Kathryn Bowers and Joycelyn Moulton, Holy Spirit, Mark Hewitt, Bishops College and Isabella Morgan, Gonzaga. Nitish Bhatt was also awarded the ďBest of FairĒ while Mark Hewitt was presented with a newly established scholarship from MUNís Faculty of Science which provides Tuition for first year studies in the science faculty.

Of the 134 projects, over half were recognized with medals and awards. There were 28 honourable mentions and 82 medals presented (32 gold, 30 silver and 20 bronze). As well 36 special awards from a number of MUN faculties and departments (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Psychology, Engineering, Medicine and Ocean Sciences) and other organizations (NAACAP, CMOS, IEEE, RAS, Conservation Corps, NL Institute of Agrologists, NL Lung Assoc, NL College for Medical Lab Sciences, Neety Panu & WISE) were presented with a total monetary value of just over $4000.00. In addition, the 6 grand award winners were each presented with a stuffed husky dog from Husky Energy.

  Mr. Ken Dyer, Ethan Bickford, Mark Hewitt, Nitish Bhatt, Joycelyn Moulton, Kathryn Bowers, Isabella Morgan