Eastern Newfoundland Science and Technology Fair


The 2013 Regional Science Fair

For the second year in a row the Eastern Newfoundland Science and Technology Fair was hosted by Bishops College. For the first time in its 33 year history, the regional fair has a title sponsor: Husky Energy. The fair was held on Friday, April 12 and Saturday, April 13. On Friday, students attended tours of Memorial University during the morning followed by judging in the afternoon. There were 84 judges, many of whom are professors, instructors and graduate students at MUN. Just over 230 students from 18 schools on the Avalon Peninsula, both junior and senior high, competed. These schools included Amalgamated Academy, Brother Rice, Bishops College, Booth Memorial, Holy Heart, Holy Spirit, Holy Trinity, Lakecrest, MacDonald Drive, Mobile Central, Mount Pearl Intermediate, Mount Pearl Senior, Prince of Wales, St. Bonaventureís College, St. Kevinís Junior, St. Paulís, St. Peterís and Villanova.

On Saturday, the public viewing and awards ceremony was attended by approximately 500 people. The emcees for the ceremony were Ms. Fiona Cuthbert and Ms. Yvonne Dawe, Co-Chairs of the Eastern Newfoundland Science Fairs Council, a group of volunteers that organizes the fair each year. A number of representatives from the major sponsors of the fair also attended and assisted with the presentation of awards. These included Dr. David Wardlaw, Provost and Vice-president Academic, MUN, Dr. Mark Abrahams, Dean of Science, MUN; Dr. Andy Foster, Associate Dean of Science, MUN, Ms. Sarah Osmond, Senior Education Officer, Eastern School District, Mr. Todd Woodland, Science Program Specialist, NL Dept of Education and Ms. Bridget Ricketts, Principal, Bishops College.

One of the highlights of the awards ceremony was the awarding of the grand awards which includes the selection of the 6 students that will represent Eastern Newfoundland at the Canada Wide Science Fair in Lethbridge, Alberta in May. These include Hannah Boone, Holy Heart, Gabrielle Molloy and Rebecca Casey, Bishops College, Jared Trask and Kaitlyn Stockley, Holy Spirit, and Neria Aylward, Holy Heart. Hannah Boone was also awarded the ďBest of FairĒ.

Of the 164 projects, over half were recognized with medals and awards. There were 29 honourable mentions and 55 medal-winning projects (23 gold, 15 silver and 17 bronze). As well 36 special awards from a number of MUN faculties and departments (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Psychology, Engineering, Medicine and Ocean Sciences) and other organizations (NAACAP, CMOS, IEEE, RAS, Conservation Corps, NL Institute of Agrologists, NL Lung Assoc, NL College for Medical Lab Sciences and Neety Panu) were presented with a total monetary value of just over $4000.00. As well, the 6 grand award winners were each presented with a stuffed husky dog from Husky Energy.

Ms. Sarah Osmond, Hanna Boone, Dr. Andy Foster, Gabrielle Molloy, Mr. Todd Woodland, Rebecca Casey, Jared Trask, Kaitlyn Stockley, Neria Aylward, Dr. Mark Abrahams, Ms. Fiona Cuthbert, Ms. Yvonne Dawe